New developer here passionate about linuxcnc and machines

Hi guys,

I’ve been an Android Developer for the past 10 years, but my passion is metal working & cnc machines. I have a home shop with a lathe & mill, both of them running linuxcnc. I’ve made my custom controllers for both of them, because I’ve wanted to adapt them more for touch screen functionality.
The controller for the mill is written on top of QtPyVcp framework, but after about 15 years of OOP, python’s mess was not my cup of tea. Therefore my lathe controller is written in kotlin, (a fancier java) and along with compose UI framework that is multiplatform, have made a much nicer coding and UI/UX experience. I’ve started from a linuxcnc java UI found on github then added the rest of the JNI functionality needed to call the library from java.
I have some questions about this OpenCN:

• can it be configured to work with lathes that have only two axes?
  • is spindle sync still working after the changes that were made?
  • can it be consumed from a higher level language other than python? Is it the same NML interface that linuxcnc uses?

dear Vasi,

thanks a lot for your post, and welcome as a potential OpenCN developer !

The transition from LinuxCNC to OpenCN is important.
The most important points are :

• Modern real time framework (no obsolete RTAI, no poor real-time RT-preempt, but a new Xenomai based AMP architecture with dedicated CPU cores, very recent Linux kernel).

• Advanced trajectory planning algorithms with jerk control

• Only EtherCAT field bus (no other real time bus, no MESA card supported)

Concerning your questions :

1. In principle, lathes with only 2 axes are possible
  2. The spindles we use today are controlled in speed, not in position. But it should be possible to view the spindle as an axis to be synchronized.
  3. I’ll come back to this question later.

We’ll have an OpenCN meeting this friday.
I’ll keep you updated,

Raoul